https://www.iowaheritage.org/items/browse/page/30?collection=103&amp%3Bsort_field=added&sort_field=Dublin+Core%2CCreator&sort_dir=d&output=atom <![CDATA[Iowa Heritage Digital Collections]]> 2024-03-29T13:21:59+00:00 Omeka https://www.iowaheritage.org/items/show/69011 <![CDATA[Dorothy Kehlenbeck holding a gavel, 1968]]> 2014-11-25T07:57:25+00:00

Title

Dorothy Kehlenbeck holding a gavel, 1968

Description

Dorothy Kehlenbeck in front of fireplace in Room 105 holding a gavel made from a wooden water main of old Chemistry Hall which was unearthed when Pearson Hall was being built. Professor Breckinridge made the gavel.
The library was first housed in Old Main, which also contained the college's reception room, lecture hall, specimen museum, students' rooms, a chapel, kitchen, laundry, and dining room. An initial purchase of $2,500 for books for the library was made in 1870 by President Welch. The library was moved to Morrill Hall in 1896 and to the Central Building (now Beardshear Hall) in 1913. In 1925, the new library building was completed to house the library's 115,000 volumes under one roof. The new facility was not large enough to allow for adequate expansion and was outgrown within five years. The first addition to the library was completed in 1961, with a second addition completed in 1969 and a third addition was completed in 1983. In 1984, the Iowa State University Library was officially dedicated as the W. Robert and Ellen Sorge Parks Library.

Creator

Iowa State University

Source

RS-25-3-A.Kehlenbeck.2046-06-01

Publisher

Iowa State University Library Special Collections: http://www.add.lib.iastate.edu/spcl/index.html

Date

1968
2012-08

Rights

U.S. and international copyright laws protect this digital image. Commercial use or distribution of the image is not permitted without prior permission of the copyright holder. For permission to use the digital image, please contact Iowa State University Library, Special Collections archives@iastate.edu For reproductions see: http://www.add.lib.iastate.edu/spcl/services/photfees.html

Relation

University Photographs; http://www.add.lib.iastate.edu/spcl/collections/images.html

Format

Photograph
14.7 x 20.9cm

Type

Image
Image

Identifier

RS-25-3-A.Kehlenbeck.2046-06-01
https://digitalcollections.lib.iastate.edu/
]]>
https://www.iowaheritage.org/items/show/69010 <![CDATA[Dorothy Kehlenbeck looking at files, 1954]]> 2014-11-25T07:57:25+00:00

Title

Dorothy Kehlenbeck looking at files, 1954

Description

Dorothy Kehlenbeck, curator of the College Historical Collection is standing before an open file cabinet drawer examining papers. The collection is located in the corner of the Faculty Reading Room 105.
The library was first housed in Old Main, which also contained the college's reception room, lecture hall, specimen museum, students' rooms, a chapel, kitchen, laundry, and dining room. An initial purchase of $2,500 for books for the library was made in 1870 by President Welch. The library was moved to Morrill Hall in 1896 and to the Central Building (now Beardshear Hall) in 1913. In 1925, the new library building was completed to house the library's 115,000 volumes under one roof. The new facility was not large enough to allow for adequate expansion and was outgrown within five years. The first addition to the library was completed in 1961, with a second addition completed in 1969 and a third addition was completed in 1983. In 1984, the Iowa State University Library was officially dedicated as the W. Robert and Ellen Sorge Parks Library.

Creator

Iowa State University

Source

RS-25-3-A.Kehlenbeck.2046-03-03

Publisher

Iowa State University Library Special Collections: http://www.add.lib.iastate.edu/spcl/index.html

Date

1954
2012-08

Rights

U.S. and international copyright laws protect this digital image. Commercial use or distribution of the image is not permitted without prior permission of the copyright holder. For permission to use the digital image, please contact Iowa State University Library, Special Collections archives@iastate.edu For reproductions see: http://www.add.lib.iastate.edu/spcl/services/photfees.html

Relation

University Photographs; http://www.add.lib.iastate.edu/spcl/collections/images.html

Format

Photograph
23.6 x 17.6cm

Type

Image
Image

Identifier

RS-25-3-A.Kehlenbeck.2046-03-03
https://digitalcollections.lib.iastate.edu/
]]>
https://www.iowaheritage.org/items/show/69009 <![CDATA[Dorothy Kehlenbeck using a dry mounting press, 1954]]> 2014-11-25T07:57:25+00:00

Title

Dorothy Kehlenbeck using a dry mounting press, 1954

Description

Mrs. Dorothy Kehlenbeck, curator of the College Historical Collection is using a dry mounting press.
The library was first housed in Old Main, which also contained the college's reception room, lecture hall, specimen museum, students' rooms, a chapel, kitchen, laundry, and dining room. An initial purchase of $2,500 for books for the library was made in 1870 by President Welch. The library was moved to Morrill Hall in 1896 and to the Central Building (now Beardshear Hall) in 1913. In 1925, the new library building was completed to house the library's 115,000 volumes under one roof. The new facility was not large enough to allow for adequate expansion and was outgrown within five years. The first addition to the library was completed in 1961, with a second addition completed in 1969 and a third addition was completed in 1983. In 1984, the Iowa State University Library was officially dedicated as the W. Robert and Ellen Sorge Parks Library.

Creator

Iowa State University

Source

RS-25-3-A.Kehlenbeck.2046-03-02

Publisher

Iowa State University Library Special Collections: http://www.add.lib.iastate.edu/spcl/index.html

Date

1954
2012-08

Rights

U.S. and international copyright laws protect this digital image. Commercial use or distribution of the image is not permitted without prior permission of the copyright holder. For permission to use the digital image, please contact Iowa State University Library, Special Collections archives@iastate.edu For reproductions see: http://www.add.lib.iastate.edu/spcl/services/photfees.html

Relation

University Photographs; http://www.add.lib.iastate.edu/spcl/collections/images.html

Format

Photograph
15.2 x 11.1cm

Type

Image
Image

Identifier

RS-25-3-A.Kehlenbeck.2046-03-02
https://digitalcollections.lib.iastate.edu/
]]>
https://www.iowaheritage.org/items/show/69008 <![CDATA[Dorothy Kehlenbeck, 1954]]> 2014-11-25T07:57:25+00:00

Title

Dorothy Kehlenbeck, 1954

Description

Mrs. Dorothy Kehlenbeck, Curator of the College Historical Collection is seated at a desk using a typewriter.
The library was first housed in Old Main, which also contained the college's reception room, lecture hall, specimen museum, students' rooms, a chapel, kitchen, laundry, and dining room. An initial purchase of $2,500 for books for the library was made in 1870 by President Welch. The library was moved to Morrill Hall in 1896 and to the Central Building (now Beardshear Hall) in 1913. In 1925, the new library building was completed to house the library's 115,000 volumes under one roof. The new facility was not large enough to allow for adequate expansion and was outgrown within five years. The first addition to the library was completed in 1961, with a second addition completed in 1969 and a third addition was completed in 1983. In 1984, the Iowa State University Library was officially dedicated as the W. Robert and Ellen Sorge Parks Library.

Creator

Iowa State University

Source

RS-25-3-A.Kehlenbeck.2046-03-01

Publisher

Iowa State University Library Special Collections: http://www.add.lib.iastate.edu/spcl/index.html

Date

1954
2008-03

Rights

U.S. and international copyright laws protect this digital image. Commercial use or distribution of the image is not permitted without prior permission of the copyright holder. For permission to use the digital image, please contact Iowa State University Library, Special Collections archives@iastate.edu For reproductions see: http://www.add.lib.iastate.edu/spcl/services/photfees.html

Relation

University Photographs; http://www.add.lib.iastate.edu/spcl/collections/images.html

Format

Photograph
11.7 x 16.3cm

Type

Image
Image

Identifier

RS-25-3-A.Kehlenbeck.2046-03-01
https://digitalcollections.lib.iastate.edu/
]]>
https://www.iowaheritage.org/items/show/69007 <![CDATA[Pam Rebarak]]> 2014-11-25T07:57:25+00:00

Title

Pam Rebarak

Description

Pam Rebarcak is seated at a desk while examing the copyright information of a library book. A computer terminal and various books are on the desktop.
The library was first housed in Old Main, which also contained the college's reception room, lecture hall, specimen museum, students' rooms, a chapel, kitchen, laundry, and dining room. An initial purchase of $2,500 for books for the library was made in 1870 by President Welch. The library was moved to Morrill Hall in 1896 and to the Central Building (now Beardshear Hall) in 1913. In 1925, the new library building was completed to house the library's 115,000 volumes under one roof. The new facility was not large enough to allow for adequate expansion and was outgrown within five years. The first addition to the library was completed in 1961, with a second addition completed in 1969 and a third addition was completed in 1983. In 1984, the Iowa State University Library was officially dedicated as the W. Robert and Ellen Sorge Parks Library.

Creator

Iowa State University

Source

RS-25-2-A.Rebarcak.2044-01-01

Publisher

Iowa State University Library Special Collections: http://www.add.lib.iastate.edu/spcl/index.html

Date

n.d.
2012-08

Rights

U.S. and international copyright laws protect this digital image. Commercial use or distribution of the image is not permitted without prior permission of the copyright holder. For permission to use the digital image, please contact Iowa State University Library, Special Collections archives@iastate.edu For reproductions see: http://www.add.lib.iastate.edu/spcl/services/photfees.html

Relation

University Photographs; http://www.add.lib.iastate.edu/spcl/collections/images.html

Format

Photograph
19.1 x 19.2cm

Type

Image
Image

Identifier

RS-25-2-A.Rebarcak.2044-01-01
https://digitalcollections.lib.iastate.edu/
]]>
https://www.iowaheritage.org/items/show/69006 <![CDATA[Margaret Mae Gross, 1954]]> 2014-11-25T07:57:25+00:00

Title

Margaret Mae Gross, 1954

Description

Margaret Mae Gross is seated at a desk in her office working on papers. A sign affixed to the desk front reads, ""Miss Gross, Secretary.""
The library was first housed in Old Main, which also contained the college's reception room, lecture hall, specimen museum, students' rooms, a chapel, kitchen, laundry, and dining room. An initial purchase of $2,500 for books for the library was made in 1870 by President Welch. The library was moved to Morrill Hall in 1896 and to the Central Building (now Beardshear Hall) in 1913. In 1925, the new library building was completed to house the library's 115,000 volumes under one roof. The new facility was not large enough to allow for adequate expansion and was outgrown within five years. The first addition to the library was completed in 1961, with a second addition completed in 1969 and a third addition was completed in 1983. In 1984, the Iowa State University Library was officially dedicated as the W. Robert and Ellen Sorge Parks Library.

Creator

Iowa State University

Source

RS-25-2-A.Gross.2045-01-01

Publisher

Iowa State University Library Special Collections: http://www.add.lib.iastate.edu/spcl/index.html

Date

1954
2008-03

Rights

U.S. and international copyright laws protect this digital image. Commercial use or distribution of the image is not permitted without prior permission of the copyright holder. For permission to use the digital image, please contact Iowa State University Library, Special Collections archives@iastate.edu For reproductions see: http://www.add.lib.iastate.edu/spcl/services/photfees.html

Relation

University Photographs; http://www.add.lib.iastate.edu/spcl/collections/images.html

Format

Photograph
7.7 x 7.6cm

Type

Image
Image

Identifier

RS-25-2-A.Gross.2045-01-01
https://digitalcollections.lib.iastate.edu/
]]>
https://www.iowaheritage.org/items/show/69005 <![CDATA[Grant Wood Mural: Other Arts Follow Engineering Panel]]> 2014-11-25T07:57:25+00:00

Title

Grant Wood Mural: Other Arts Follow Engineering Panel

Description

A standing individual is facing the Engineering Panel of the Grant Wood Mural, Other Arts Follow.
The library was first housed in Old Main, which also contained the college's reception room, lecture hall, specimen museum, students' rooms, a chapel, kitchen, laundry, and dining room. An initial purchase of $2,500 for books for the library was made in 1870 by President Welch. The library was moved to Morrill Hall in 1896 and to the Central Building (now Beardshear Hall) in 1913. In 1925, the new library building was completed to house the library's 115,000 volumes under one roof. The new facility was not large enough to allow for adequate expansion and was outgrown within five years. The first addition to the library was completed in 1961, with a second addition completed in 1969 and a third addition was completed in 1983. In 1984, the Iowa State University Library was officially dedicated as the W. Robert and Ellen Sorge Parks Library.

Creator

Iowa State University

Source

RS-25-1-O.LibraryArt.2040-01-02

Publisher

Iowa State University Library Special Collections: http://www.add.lib.iastate.edu/spcl/index.html

Date

n.d.
2008-03

Rights

U.S. and international copyright laws protect this digital image. Commercial use or distribution of the image is not permitted without prior permission of the copyright holder. For permission to use the digital image, please contact Iowa State University Library, Special Collections archives@iastate.edu For reproductions see: http://www.add.lib.iastate.edu/spcl/services/photfees.html

Relation

University Photographs; http://www.add.lib.iastate.edu/spcl/collections/images.html

Format

Photograph
19 x 24cm

Type

Image
Image

Identifier

RS-25-1-O.LibraryArt.2040-01-02
https://digitalcollections.lib.iastate.edu/
]]>
https://www.iowaheritage.org/items/show/69004 <![CDATA[Christian Petersen's Sculpture: Library Boy and Girl]]> 2014-11-25T07:57:25+00:00

Title

Christian Petersen's Sculpture: Library Boy and Girl

Description

Christian Petersen's Sculpture: Library Boy and Girl appears in close-up view with the boy in the foreground and the girl in the background.
The library was first housed in Old Main, which also contained the college's reception room, lecture hall, specimen museum, students' rooms, a chapel, kitchen, laundry, and dining room. An initial purchase of $2,500 for books for the library was made in 1870 by President Welch. The library was moved to Morrill Hall in 1896 and to the Central Building (now Beardshear Hall) in 1913. In 1925, the new library building was completed to house the library's 115,000 volumes under one roof. The new facility was not large enough to allow for adequate expansion and was outgrown within five years. The first addition to the library was completed in 1961, with a second addition completed in 1969 and a third addition was completed in 1983. In 1984, the Iowa State University Library was officially dedicated as the W. Robert and Ellen Sorge Parks Library.

Creator

Iowa State University

Source

RS-25-1-O.LibraryArt.2040-01-01

Publisher

Iowa State University Library Special Collections: http://www.add.lib.iastate.edu/spcl/index.html

Date

n.d.
2008-03

Rights

U.S. and international copyright laws protect this digital image. Commercial use or distribution of the image is not permitted without prior permission of the copyright holder. For permission to use the digital image, please contact Iowa State University Library, Special Collections archives@iastate.edu For reproductions see: http://www.add.lib.iastate.edu/spcl/services/photfees.html

Relation

University Photographs; http://www.add.lib.iastate.edu/spcl/collections/images.html

Format

Photograph
11.1 x 18.1cm

Type

Image
Image

Identifier

RS-25-1-O.LibraryArt.2040-01-01
https://digitalcollections.lib.iastate.edu/
]]>
https://www.iowaheritage.org/items/show/69003 <![CDATA[Instituzioni Analitiche, cover from Tome 1]]> 2014-11-25T07:57:25+00:00

Title

Instituzioni Analitiche, cover from Tome 1

Description

The cover from Instituzioni Analitiche, Tome 1 shown in this close-up view. The two volume Instituzoni Analitche was the two millionth volume added to the Iowa State University Library collection.
The library was first housed in Old Main, which also contained the college's reception room, lecture hall, specimen museum, students' rooms, a chapel, kitchen, laundry, and dining room. An initial purchase of $2,500 for books for the library was made in 1870 by President Welch. The library was moved to Morrill Hall in 1896 and to the Central Building (now Beardshear Hall) in 1913. In 1925, the new library building was completed to house the library's 115,000 volumes under one roof. The new facility was not large enough to allow for adequate expansion and was outgrown within five years. The first addition to the library was completed in 1961, with a second addition completed in 1969 and a third addition was completed in 1983. In 1984, the Iowa State University Library was officially dedicated as the W. Robert and Ellen Sorge Parks Library.

Creator

Iowa State University

Source

RS-25-1-I.Library.2041-07-02

Publisher

Iowa State University Library Special Collections: http://www.add.lib.iastate.edu/spcl/index.html

Date

n.d.
2012-08

Rights

U.S. and international copyright laws protect this digital image. Commercial use or distribution of the image is not permitted without prior permission of the copyright holder. For permission to use the digital image, please contact Iowa State University Library, Special Collections archives@iastate.edu For reproductions see: http://www.add.lib.iastate.edu/spcl/services/photfees.html

Relation

University Photographs; http://www.add.lib.iastate.edu/spcl/collections/images.html

Format

Photograph
11.7 x 16.7cm

Type

Image
Image

Identifier

RS-25-1-I.Library.2041-07-02
https://digitalcollections.lib.iastate.edu/
]]>
https://www.iowaheritage.org/items/show/69002 <![CDATA[Page of mathematical diagrams from Instituzioni Analitiche]]> 2014-11-25T07:57:25+00:00

Title

Page of mathematical diagrams from Instituzioni Analitiche

Description

A page of mathematical diagrams from Instituzioni Analitiche shown in this close-up view. The two volume Instituzoni Analitche was the two millionth volume added to the Iowa State University Library collection.
The library was first housed in Old Main, which also contained the college's reception room, lecture hall, specimen museum, students' rooms, a chapel, kitchen, laundry, and dining room. An initial purchase of $2,500 for books for the library was made in 1870 by President Welch. The library was moved to Morrill Hall in 1896 and to the Central Building (now Beardshear Hall) in 1913. In 1925, the new library building was completed to house the library's 115,000 volumes under one roof. The new facility was not large enough to allow for adequate expansion and was outgrown within five years. The first addition to the library was completed in 1961, with a second addition completed in 1969 and a third addition was completed in 1983. In 1984, the Iowa State University Library was officially dedicated as the W. Robert and Ellen Sorge Parks Library.

Creator

Iowa State University

Source

RS-25-1-H.Library.2041-07-05

Publisher

Iowa State University Library Special Collections: http://www.add.lib.iastate.edu/spcl/index.html

Date

n.d.
2012-08

Rights

U.S. and international copyright laws protect this digital image. Commercial use or distribution of the image is not permitted without prior permission of the copyright holder. For permission to use the digital image, please contact Iowa State University Library, Special Collections archives@iastate.edu For reproductions see: http://www.add.lib.iastate.edu/spcl/services/photfees.html

Relation

University Photographs; http://www.add.lib.iastate.edu/spcl/collections/images.html

Format

Photograph
11.7 x 16.7cm

Type

Image
Image

Identifier

RS-25-1-H.Library.2041-07-05
https://digitalcollections.lib.iastate.edu/
]]>