https://www.iowaheritage.org/items/browse/page/140?collection=103&amp%3Bsort_field=added&sort_field=Dublin+Core%2CCreator&output=atom <![CDATA[Iowa Heritage Digital Collections]]> 2024-03-29T01:12:13+00:00 Omeka https://www.iowaheritage.org/items/show/68862 <![CDATA[Public computers on the first floor before library renovation, 1999]]> 2014-11-25T07:57:27+00:00

Title

Public computers on the first floor before library renovation, 1999

Description

Public computers on the first floor are shown in a view looking east, before the 1999 library renovation.
The library was first housed in Old Main, which also contained the college's reception room, lecture hall, specimen museum, students' rooms, a chapel, kitchen, laundry, and dining room. An initial purchase of $2,500 for books for the library was made in 1870 by President Welch. The library was moved to Morrill Hall in 1896 and to the Central Building (now Beardshear Hall) in 1913. In 1925, the new library building was completed to house the library's 115,000 volumes under one roof. The new facility was not large enough to allow for adequate expansion and was outgrown within five years. The first addition to the library was completed in 1961, with a second addition completed in 1969 and a third addition was completed in 1983. In 1984, the Iowa State University Library was officially dedicated as the W. Robert and Ellen Sorge Parks Library.

Creator

Iowa State University

Source

RS-4-8-H.Library.127.3-04-04

Publisher

Iowa State University Library Special Collections: http://www.add.lib.iastate.edu/spcl/index.html

Date

1999
2012-08

Rights

U.S. and international copyright laws protect this digital image. Commercial use or distribution of the image is not permitted without prior permission of the copyright holder. For permission to use the digital image, please contact Iowa State University Library, Special Collections archives@iastate.edu For reproductions see: http://www.add.lib.iastate.edu/spcl/services/photfees.html

Relation

University Photographs; http://www.add.lib.iastate.edu/spcl/collections/images.html

Format

Photograph

Type

Image
Image

Identifier

RS-4-8-H.Library.127.3-04-04
https://digitalcollections.lib.iastate.edu/
]]>
https://www.iowaheritage.org/items/show/68863 <![CDATA[Periodical Room (Reference Room), 1935]]> 2014-11-25T07:57:27+00:00

Title

Periodical Room (Reference Room), 1935

Description

Students study in the library Reference Room (currently called Periodical Room), while a librarian works at the reference desk.
The library was first housed in Old Main, which also contained the college's reception room, lecture hall, specimen museum, students' rooms, a chapel, kitchen, laundry, and dining room. An initial purchase of $2,500 for books for the library was made in 1870 by President Welch. The library was moved to Morrill Hall in 1896 and to the Central Building (now Beardshear Hall) in 1913. In 1925, the new library building was completed to house the library's 115,000 volumes under one roof. The new facility was not large enough to allow for adequate expansion and was outgrown within five years. The first addition to the library was completed in 1961, with a second addition completed in 1969 and a third addition was completed in 1983. In 1984, the Iowa State University Library was officially dedicated as the W. Robert and Ellen Sorge Parks Library.

Creator

Iowa State University

Source

RS-4-8-H.Library.146-01-01

Publisher

Iowa State University Library Special Collections: http://www.add.lib.iastate.edu/spcl/index.html

Date

1935-03
2012-08

Rights

U.S. and international copyright laws protect this digital image. Commercial use or distribution of the image is not permitted without prior permission of the copyright holder. For permission to use the digital image, please contact Iowa State University Library, Special Collections archives@iastate.edu For reproductions see: http://www.add.lib.iastate.edu/spcl/services/photfees.html

Relation

University Photographs; http://www.add.lib.iastate.edu/spcl/collections/images.html

Format

Photograph

Type

Image
Image

Identifier

RS-4-8-H.Library.146-01-01
https://digitalcollections.lib.iastate.edu/
]]>
https://www.iowaheritage.org/items/show/68864 <![CDATA[Mr. Roe waxing the floor in the Bookends Reading Room (Periodical Reading Room), 1927]]> 2014-11-25T07:57:27+00:00

Title

Mr. Roe waxing the floor in the Bookends Reading Room (Periodical Reading Room), 1927

Description

Mr. Roe operates a floor waxer in the Periodical Reading Room (currently called the Bookends Reading Room).
The library was first housed in Old Main, which also contained the college's reception room, lecture hall, specimen museum, students' rooms, a chapel, kitchen, laundry, and dining room. An initial purchase of $2,500 for books for the library was made in 1870 by President Welch. The library was moved to Morrill Hall in 1896 and to the Central Building (now Beardshear Hall) in 1913. In 1925, the new library building was completed to house the library's 115,000 volumes under one roof. The new facility was not large enough to allow for adequate expansion and was outgrown within five years. The first addition to the library was completed in 1961, with a second addition completed in 1969 and a third addition was completed in 1983. In 1984, the Iowa State University Library was officially dedicated as the W. Robert and Ellen Sorge Parks Library.

Creator

Iowa State University

Source

RS-4-8-H.Library.146-01-02

Publisher

Iowa State University Library Special Collections: http://www.add.lib.iastate.edu/spcl/index.html

Date

1927-04-20
2012-08

Rights

U.S. and international copyright laws protect this digital image. Commercial use or distribution of the image is not permitted without prior permission of the copyright holder. For permission to use the digital image, please contact Iowa State University Library, Special Collections archives@iastate.edu For reproductions see: http://www.add.lib.iastate.edu/spcl/services/photfees.html

Relation

University Photographs; http://www.add.lib.iastate.edu/spcl/collections/images.html

Format

Photograph

Type

Image
Image

Identifier

RS-4-8-H.Library.146-01-02
https://digitalcollections.lib.iastate.edu/
]]>
https://www.iowaheritage.org/items/show/68865 <![CDATA[Circulation Desk (Loan Desk) in operation, 1935]]> 2014-11-25T07:57:27+00:00

Title

Circulation Desk (Loan Desk) in operation, 1935

Description

At the Loan Desk (now called Circulation Desk), a male staff member hands a book to a female student, while a female staff member sits nearby.
The library was first housed in Old Main, which also contained the college's reception room, lecture hall, specimen museum, students' rooms, a chapel, kitchen, laundry, and dining room. An initial purchase of $2,500 for books for the library was made in 1870 by President Welch. The library was moved to Morrill Hall in 1896 and to the Central Building (now Beardshear Hall) in 1913. In 1925, the new library building was completed to house the library's 115,000 volumes under one roof. The new facility was not large enough to allow for adequate expansion and was outgrown within five years. The first addition to the library was completed in 1961, with a second addition completed in 1969 and a third addition was completed in 1983. In 1984, the Iowa State University Library was officially dedicated as the W. Robert and Ellen Sorge Parks Library.

Creator

Iowa State University

Source

RS-4-8-H.Library.146-01-03

Publisher

Iowa State University Library Special Collections: http://www.add.lib.iastate.edu/spcl/index.html

Date

1935-03
2012-08

Rights

U.S. and international copyright laws protect this digital image. Commercial use or distribution of the image is not permitted without prior permission of the copyright holder. For permission to use the digital image, please contact Iowa State University Library, Special Collections archives@iastate.edu For reproductions see: http://www.add.lib.iastate.edu/spcl/services/photfees.html

Relation

University Photographs; http://www.add.lib.iastate.edu/spcl/collections/images.html

Format

Photograph

Type

Image
Image

Identifier

RS-4-8-H.Library.146-01-03
https://digitalcollections.lib.iastate.edu/
]]>
https://www.iowaheritage.org/items/show/68866 <![CDATA[Behind the Circulation Desk (Loan Desk), 1944]]> 2014-11-25T07:57:27+00:00

Title

Behind the Circulation Desk (Loan Desk), 1944

Description

The Library Loan Desk (now called Circulation Desk) is viewed from the librarian's side, with a male staff member helping a female patron while other staff work with card files and book trucks behind the desk.
The library was first housed in Old Main, which also contained the college's reception room, lecture hall, specimen museum, students' rooms, a chapel, kitchen, laundry, and dining room. An initial purchase of $2,500 for books for the library was made in 1870 by President Welch. The library was moved to Morrill Hall in 1896 and to the Central Building (now Beardshear Hall) in 1913. In 1925, the new library building was completed to house the library's 115,000 volumes under one roof. The new facility was not large enough to allow for adequate expansion and was outgrown within five years. The first addition to the library was completed in 1961, with a second addition completed in 1969 and a third addition was completed in 1983. In 1984, the Iowa State University Library was officially dedicated as the W. Robert and Ellen Sorge Parks Library.

Creator

Iowa State University

Source

RS-4-8-H.Library.146-02-01

Publisher

Iowa State University Library Special Collections: http://www.add.lib.iastate.edu/spcl/index.html

Date

1944
2012-08

Rights

U.S. and international copyright laws protect this digital image. Commercial use or distribution of the image is not permitted without prior permission of the copyright holder. For permission to use the digital image, please contact Iowa State University Library, Special Collections archives@iastate.edu For reproductions see: http://www.add.lib.iastate.edu/spcl/services/photfees.html

Relation

University Photographs; http://www.add.lib.iastate.edu/spcl/collections/images.html

Format

Photograph

Type

Image
Image

Identifier

RS-4-8-H.Library.146-02-01
https://digitalcollections.lib.iastate.edu/
]]>
https://www.iowaheritage.org/items/show/68867 <![CDATA[Periodical Room (Main Reading Room), 1940]]> 2014-11-25T07:57:27+00:00

Title

Periodical Room (Main Reading Room), 1940

Description

Tables of students are viewed from above in the library's Main Reading Room (currently called the Periodical Room).
The library was first housed in Old Main, which also contained the college's reception room, lecture hall, specimen museum, students' rooms, a chapel, kitchen, laundry, and dining room. An initial purchase of $2,500 for books for the library was made in 1870 by President Welch. The library was moved to Morrill Hall in 1896 and to the Central Building (now Beardshear Hall) in 1913. In 1925, the new library building was completed to house the library's 115,000 volumes under one roof. The new facility was not large enough to allow for adequate expansion and was outgrown within five years. The first addition to the library was completed in 1961, with a second addition completed in 1969 and a third addition was completed in 1983. In 1984, the Iowa State University Library was officially dedicated as the W. Robert and Ellen Sorge Parks Library.

Creator

Iowa State University

Source

RS-4-8-H.Library.146-03-01

Publisher

Iowa State University Library Special Collections: http://www.add.lib.iastate.edu/spcl/index.html

Date

1940?
2012-08

Rights

U.S. and international copyright laws protect this digital image. Commercial use or distribution of the image is not permitted without prior permission of the copyright holder. For permission to use the digital image, please contact Iowa State University Library, Special Collections archives@iastate.edu For reproductions see: http://www.add.lib.iastate.edu/spcl/services/photfees.html

Relation

University Photographs; http://www.add.lib.iastate.edu/spcl/collections/images.html

Format

Photograph

Type

Image
Image

Identifier

RS-4-8-H.Library.146-03-01
https://digitalcollections.lib.iastate.edu/
]]>
https://www.iowaheritage.org/items/show/68868 <![CDATA[Room 198 (Reserve Book Room), 1944]]> 2014-11-25T07:57:27+00:00

Title

Room 198 (Reserve Book Room), 1944

Description

The reserve desk and shelves are visible behind tables of students in the Reserve Book Room (currently Room 198).
The library was first housed in Old Main, which also contained the college's reception room, lecture hall, specimen museum, students' rooms, a chapel, kitchen, laundry, and dining room. An initial purchase of $2,500 for books for the library was made in 1870 by President Welch. The library was moved to Morrill Hall in 1896 and to the Central Building (now Beardshear Hall) in 1913. In 1925, the new library building was completed to house the library's 115,000 volumes under one roof. The new facility was not large enough to allow for adequate expansion and was outgrown within five years. The first addition to the library was completed in 1961, with a second addition completed in 1969 and a third addition was completed in 1983. In 1984, the Iowa State University Library was officially dedicated as the W. Robert and Ellen Sorge Parks Library.

Creator

Iowa State University

Source

RS-4-8-H.Library.146-03-02

Publisher

Iowa State University Library Special Collections: http://www.add.lib.iastate.edu/spcl/index.html

Date

1944
2008-04

Rights

U.S. and international copyright laws protect this digital image. Commercial use or distribution of the image is not permitted without prior permission of the copyright holder. For permission to use the digital image, please contact Iowa State University Library, Special Collections archives@iastate.edu For reproductions see: http://www.add.lib.iastate.edu/spcl/services/photfees.html

Relation

University Photographs; http://www.add.lib.iastate.edu/spcl/collections/images.html

Format

Photograph

Type

Image
Image

Identifier

RS-4-8-H.Library.146-03-02
https://digitalcollections.lib.iastate.edu/
]]>
https://www.iowaheritage.org/items/show/68869 <![CDATA[Periodical Room (East General Reading Room), 1925]]> 2014-11-25T07:57:27+00:00

Title

Periodical Room (East General Reading Room), 1925

Description

Students study in the East General Reading Room (currently called the Periodical Room).
The library was first housed in Old Main, which also contained the college's reception room, lecture hall, specimen museum, students' rooms, a chapel, kitchen, laundry, and dining room. An initial purchase of $2,500 for books for the library was made in 1870 by President Welch. The library was moved to Morrill Hall in 1896 and to the Central Building (now Beardshear Hall) in 1913. In 1925, the new library building was completed to house the library's 115,000 volumes under one roof. The new facility was not large enough to allow for adequate expansion and was outgrown within five years. The first addition to the library was completed in 1961, with a second addition completed in 1969 and a third addition was completed in 1983. In 1984, the Iowa State University Library was officially dedicated as the W. Robert and Ellen Sorge Parks Library.

Creator

Iowa State University

Source

RS-4-8-H.Library.146-04-01

Publisher

Iowa State University Library Special Collections: http://www.add.lib.iastate.edu/spcl/index.html

Date

1925
2012-08

Rights

U.S. and international copyright laws protect this digital image. Commercial use or distribution of the image is not permitted without prior permission of the copyright holder. For permission to use the digital image, please contact Iowa State University Library, Special Collections archives@iastate.edu For reproductions see: http://www.add.lib.iastate.edu/spcl/services/photfees.html

Relation

University Photographs; http://www.add.lib.iastate.edu/spcl/collections/images.html

Format

Photograph

Type

Image
Image

Identifier

RS-4-8-H.Library.146-04-01
https://digitalcollections.lib.iastate.edu/
]]>
https://www.iowaheritage.org/items/show/68870 <![CDATA[Circulation Desk (Loan Desk) as it first appeared in the newly opened library, 1925]]> 2014-11-25T07:57:27+00:00

Title

Circulation Desk (Loan Desk) as it first appeared in the newly opened library, 1925

Description

The Loan Desk (currently called Circulation Desk) is shown as it first appeared in the newly opened library.
The library was first housed in Old Main, which also contained the college's reception room, lecture hall, specimen museum, students' rooms, a chapel, kitchen, laundry, and dining room. An initial purchase of $2,500 for books for the library was made in 1870 by President Welch. The library was moved to Morrill Hall in 1896 and to the Central Building (now Beardshear Hall) in 1913. In 1925, the new library building was completed to house the library's 115,000 volumes under one roof. The new facility was not large enough to allow for adequate expansion and was outgrown within five years. The first addition to the library was completed in 1961, with a second addition completed in 1969 and a third addition was completed in 1983. In 1984, the Iowa State University Library was officially dedicated as the W. Robert and Ellen Sorge Parks Library.

Creator

Iowa State University

Source

RS-4-8-H.Library.146-04-02

Publisher

Iowa State University Library Special Collections: http://www.add.lib.iastate.edu/spcl/index.html

Date

1925-04
2012-08

Rights

U.S. and international copyright laws protect this digital image. Commercial use or distribution of the image is not permitted without prior permission of the copyright holder. For permission to use the digital image, please contact Iowa State University Library, Special Collections archives@iastate.edu For reproductions see: http://www.add.lib.iastate.edu/spcl/services/photfees.html

Relation

University Photographs; http://www.add.lib.iastate.edu/spcl/collections/images.html

Format

Photograph

Type

Image
Image

Identifier

RS-4-8-H.Library.146-04-02
https://digitalcollections.lib.iastate.edu/
]]>
https://www.iowaheritage.org/items/show/68871 <![CDATA[Bookends Reading Room (Periodical Reading Room) as it first appeared in the newly opened library, 1925]]> 2014-11-25T07:57:27+00:00

Title

Bookends Reading Room (Periodical Reading Room) as it first appeared in the newly opened library, 1925

Description

Students study in the Periodical Reading Room (currently called the Bookends Reading Room) in the newly opened library.
The library was first housed in Old Main, which also contained the college's reception room, lecture hall, specimen museum, students' rooms, a chapel, kitchen, laundry, and dining room. An initial purchase of $2,500 for books for the library was made in 1870 by President Welch. The library was moved to Morrill Hall in 1896 and to the Central Building (now Beardshear Hall) in 1913. In 1925, the new library building was completed to house the library's 115,000 volumes under one roof. The new facility was not large enough to allow for adequate expansion and was outgrown within five years. The first addition to the library was completed in 1961, with a second addition completed in 1969 and a third addition was completed in 1983. In 1984, the Iowa State University Library was officially dedicated as the W. Robert and Ellen Sorge Parks Library.

Creator

Iowa State University

Source

RS-4-8-H.Library.146-04-03

Publisher

Iowa State University Library Special Collections: http://www.add.lib.iastate.edu/spcl/index.html

Date

1925-04
2012-08

Rights

U.S. and international copyright laws protect this digital image. Commercial use or distribution of the image is not permitted without prior permission of the copyright holder. For permission to use the digital image, please contact Iowa State University Library, Special Collections archives@iastate.edu For reproductions see: http://www.add.lib.iastate.edu/spcl/services/photfees.html

Relation

University Photographs; http://www.add.lib.iastate.edu/spcl/collections/images.html

Format

Photograph

Type

Image
Image

Identifier

RS-4-8-H.Library.146-04-03
https://digitalcollections.lib.iastate.edu/
]]>