People, Biographies (4/8)

Evelyn Birkby Collection

Contributor: University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa Women's Archives

On May 15, 1950, Evelyn Birkby took her weekly Shenandoah Evening Sentinel "Up a Country Lane" column on the air with KMA radio station, changing its name to "Down a Country Lane." The radio program was a forum to share her observations about her own experiences and those of her neighbors. The program was broadcast over KMA until 1952. Birkby took a hiatus until 1955, when she began working for Kitchen-Klatter as a writer and broadcaster. The Evelyn Birkby Collection of Radio Homemaker Materials date from 1927 to 1999 and measure 3 linear feet. The bulk of these papers are in the form of publications.

Figge Art Museum Grant Wood Digital Collection

Contributor: Iowa State University, Special Collections

This is a collection of scrapbooks on Grant Wood's career, containing photographs, clippings, correspondence and other ephemera; compiled by his sister and occasional model, Nan Wood Graham.

George Washington Carver

Contributor: Iowa State University, Special Collections

Educated at Iowa Agricultural College (Iowa State University), George Washington Carver gained an international reputation during his career at Tuskegee University.  His research resulted in the creation of 325 products from peanuts, more than 100 products from sweet potatoes, and hundreds more from a dozen other plants native to the South. This digital collection contains images of Carver as well as letters and correspondence between Carver and Iowa State colleagues.

Governors of Iowa

Contributors: Iowa Library Services/State Library of Iowa and the State Historical Society of Iowa

 Out of 42 governors from the state of Iowa, two have served twice, both with a twelve year hiatus between the two terms.  Governor Samuel Kirkwood served from 1860-1864 and again from 1876-1877. Governor Terry Branstad served from 1983-1999 and was re-elected to a term beginning in 2011. Images and biographies of all Iowa's governors beginning with the  first territorial governor in 1838 are included here.  There are also links to the Executive Orders of the governors. Pictured here is Governor Ansell Briggs who served from 1846-1850. He was the first Iowa governor to serve following the terms of three Iowa Territory governors.